When the New Year Begins with Troubles

God is in Control. Mary DeM

The New Year’s beginning lacks uplifting moments.  In fact, my last post about the coming New Year having disappointments and sadness portends too much fact.  We have barely completed two weeks, and my heart breaks with the events of this year.  I have known for several weeks that a very dear, dear relative has cancer without much time left.  She has lived a long, good life wherein she has always been happiest while serving others.  I learned this week that a couple whom I love beyond words had a court date this week for a divorce.  I don’t understand how that could happen!  I missed all the signs that their life together did not bring them happiness.  Yet what could I have done to improve their situation?  I prayed for them daily, but for something other than the real root of the dysfunction.

Joy

Later this month I am enveloping myself in a writing intensive course to kickstart my desire to publish legacy stories.  The leader of this course has asked each of the twelve students accepted into the program to come up with, not a New Year’s resolution, but a single word to describe what we want out of this year.  Considering my circumstances, mine came easily:  STAMINA!   I need stamina to survive the slings and arrows of life destruction.  Honestly, I do not see myself struggling to survive.  I know God is my co-pilot and will guide me through these rough waters.  Life will go on.  I have complete trust that God controls each situation.  Everything will work out for His good and His glory.

 1933-wedding-bill-etha

I will share with you an incident I recently experienced.  Since my daughter died, I have had similar visions of God communicating with me.  This time, the vision came of my mother looking like she did when I was very young.  She said they know my dear relative is about to leave this world;  “We are watching out for her and will care for her.”  “We” = “the cloud of witnesses” in Hebrews 12: 1-3.  That “cloud of witnesses” includes our beloved family members who have preceded us in death.  I told my precious relative that story.  She responded she had told her children that day — “Soon I will be in the cloud of witnesses watching over you.”  God gave me stamina to listen, absorb, share.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

