The Softening of Grief – Remembering My Daughter

5-picture-448-2

A young woman who lost her twin, Danny, a close friend of my son Greg, wrote to me a few months after Karin’s death about the hole in their family’s hearts, with the comforting words of “Karin was beautiful inside and out.”

 She continued, “The hole is never going to be filled, But over time you understand that you will be with her again and what Jesus did for us is really the most amazing part of life! There really will be that moment when you are face to face again.  And all of the people whom you love and the new additions to your family will give you the will to survive. I always tell people to watch for special blessings in their life… I am sure Karin had a few ideas to help you all along!


“After Danny died, Greg was there to help me through some of the hardest moments in my life. The others were suffering and unable to give me what he did. And for that I am forever grateful! People are the greatest treasures this world holds… So we know that God has never left us alone!”

karin-mickey

I responded at that time, “We are so proud of her, as you are of Danny. I understand the hole in your family’s hearts. It will always be there, and I never want it to get better.” 

Now eight years later, the pain has softened from a jarring, searing pain, to one of sweet memories including thankfulness she is not alive in this age of Isis.  Eight years ago, she found the world’s situation so upsetting that she tried to ignore the world news as much as possible.  Instead, she sits in the courts of heaven, worshiping God, playing her golden harp, and enjoying being with her deceased relatives/ancestors, friends, and pets!  Something all Christians anticipate.

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, Family, Grief, Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Softening of Grief – Remembering My Daughter

  1. Andy Oldham says:

    As with others I really needed this, this time of year. Thanks!

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    I am glad it was helpful to you, Andy. I hope you have a blessed Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

