The Sears Saga of Simple Salespeople and Sage Superiors

vacuum

Deciphering Life, my title/theme for this blog is based on trying to figure out why life is so crazy.  Or maybe I should be asking why PEOPLE are so crazy!!  Why can’t everyone be like me?!  😉   I am level headed, try to be gracious, and even loving thus extending God’s love, to all around me.  Sometimes it takes extreme efforts, but I usually succeed.  I do not want to be known as a hot head, but certain situations test my limits.

For instance. . .  I recently moved.  My seventeen year old washing machine bit the dust, but my seventeen year old dryer continues to hum along.  I went to the local Sears store for a new washing machine.  I have always purchased my appliances from Sears due to their readily available repair.  The salesperson told me my old dryer would have a three prong cord, and needed a new four prong plug to be installed in my newly constructed house.  So I bought the $25 cord.  He did not point out that it had to be returned within thirty days as he didn’t expect it would need to be returned.  My mover’s installer came with a new four prong plug, so did not use the one I bought.

I tried to return the cord thirty-five days after purchase.  Five days over the limit!  I asked for the store manager.  After a call, she was at lunch, but another senior person came.  No.  Thirty days is the limit.  Period.  They even called over the salesperson who sold it to me.  Despite him having told me I “needed” the cord, yet since I did not need it, what could he do?  I told these guys I would be contacting the Better Business Bureau as I was forced to buy a cord I did not need.  I said it with a smile hoping they would see I am not angry.  I expect justice.  Their negative to my simple request did major damage to my impression of Sears. What ever happened to the adage – “The customer is always right?” How could they fail to realize they were losing a loyal customer, when an easy return would have restored all faith in their brand.  They chose a stone wall.

stone1

When I tried to register a complaint against Sears on the local BBB site, they automatically switched me from their site to Sears’ headquarters in Chicago.  The person who handled my complaint sent a message saying she would give me equivalent Rewards points if I called back to accept them.  Naturally, reaching her was impossible.

Meanwhile, my Kenmore vacuum had been damaged in my move.  The repair would take three to four weeks; it was now five weeks with no notification.  Since reaching them by phone continues as an impossibility, I drove out of my way and walked into the store.  My vacuum was ready.  As I turned to leave, a woman walked by who looked familiar.  She even remembered my Toby and asked if he was with me!  She was the woman who had helped me carry my vacuum into the store a month ago.  And who was she?  None other than the Store Manager!  So I vented my four prong story on her.  After walking to my car with me, we noted scuffs and scratches all over my canister.  Her description:  “It looks like they used it as a bowling ball.”  She was disgusted, took me to her office, sat at her computer, and transferred the Rewards points to my account in seconds.  She said, “See how long that takes to do?”

I indicated I would spend them that day on vacuum bags.  She walked me to the bag display, I selected my bags, and she handed them to me saying, “You still have your Rewards points.”  That is how you retain customer loyalty!

always-blessed-thankful-av

By the way, it took Sears three days from the day I picked up my vacuum to call me and say it was ready for pickup.  <sigh>  We live in a broken world.

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Deciphering Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sears Saga of Simple Salespeople and Sage Superiors

  1. Lynn Waller says:

    Good story. We can all identify with the woes you described so well.

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    Thanks, Lynn! Writing stories about abusive events makes me feel better about them. Ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

