When You Embark on a New Path, You Are Leaving a Known, Old Road

lost-boys-5

“Path” insinuates a relatively untraveled route and perhaps recently created.  “Old road” brings a vision of a well-trod roadway.   Perhaps paved; perhaps not.  But well traveled.

I know people who lived in the same house for their entire lifetime.  I know others who moved frequently.  Too frequently.  I fall into that category.  It was not my choice. I expected I to marry, settle down somewhere and stay there the rest of my life.  My parents, after leaving their childhood homes for marriage, lived in three houses.  The first house was very small and was owned by a former beau of my mother’s.

When my father began working for my mother’s grandfather on an oil lease, the Putnam Oil Company owned a home on one of their leases and needed an employee to live there to tend to the oil wells on a 24/7 basis.  The house sat on a hilltop among the Allegheny foothills on a little-traveled dirt road.  The property allowed my father to have a “gentlemen’s farm” with large garden, pigs, chickens, and a cow – all intended to bring food to the table. They lived there for over ten years, through the Depression and World War II with no telephone and their electricity came from their generator.  All three of their children were born while living in that house, a span of eleven years.  On the day of my birth, my mother’s grandmother was buried.  A few months later, we moved into the grandparents’ home located in the center of town.  My parents lived out the rest of their lives there.  My mother never left the township of her birth.

My house

My husband, being the son of a minister in a denomination which moved pastors every two or three years, considered frequent moving a normal way of life and desirable.  During our 42 years of marriage, we lived in 13 homes in 5 states and 1 province, an average of 3.2 years per house.  Reality is we resided in 8 homes for only 1 to 2 years, and in 2 homes for over 10 years.  Our 13th and last home was in a townhouse development of 13 homes, ours being #13! Spooky!

IMG_0610

After locking him out of our home and questioning that decision, then passing this angel in my garden, I heard a God-voice tell me very clearly:  “You did the right thing.  You should have done it sooner.  Move as far away as you can.”  I moved 1400 miles away to be close to grandchildren.  Since they left me after 2 years, another grandchild began begging me to narrow the distance of 1200 miles to a few.

With that many moves, I have experience in establishing a new life.  While the current chapter of my life will leave many facets of a fulfilled life behind, a well-worn path I created, a new road opens presenting new experiences, challenges, and, happiness living close to loving family.  Amazingly, that family, not biological, but forged through marriage, adoption, death, and remarriage.  God is good!

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, Deciphering Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When You Embark on a New Path, You Are Leaving a Known, Old Road

  1. Andy Oldham says:

    Good luck on your new path Nina!

    Like

Leave a Reply

