The Red, Red Robin Comes Bob-Bob-Bobbin’ Along

IMG_0218My friends and neighbors call me “The Bird Lady.”  That nomenclature pleases me.  And I am more than grateful to have so many bird events within my yard.

This morning, I opened my shutters to see two baby robins playing and fluttering in my garden.  Their speckled breasts gave away their age.  The apparent siblings separated and each pecked at the ground trying to find their first meal on their own.  The one which remained in my sight range had me grinning as the poor thing didn’t know what was food and what was not.  Where were Mama and Papa to teach them?  Unfortunately, my iPhone, in the process of an IOS update, prevented me from taking photos. The untrained baby tried to eat anything and everything, particularly leaves near the ground on flower plants.  It especially thought the brown withered leaves should taste good and tried them repeatedly, only to spit them out.

In their quest for some Texas meat, they moved to the side of my house which becomes a bit swampy after a rain storm.  One baby had its first bath!

Then a third bird appeared.  At the time, I thought it was a third baby.  But, in this picture, it could be the Mama come to check on them.  ??  I hope she taught them to find a worm!!!

Listen to Bing Crosby sing the title song:

When the Red, Red Robin Comes Bob-Bob Bobbin' Along 
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin' along, along 
There'll be no more sobbin' when he starts throbbin' his old sweet song 
Wake up, wake up you sleepy head 
Get up, get out of your bed 
Cheer up, cheer up the sun is red 
Live, love, laugh and be happy 
What if I were blue, now I'm walking through, walking through the fields of flowers 
Rain may glisten but still I listen for hours and hours 
I'm just a kid again doing what I did again, singing a song 
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin' along 
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin' 
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin' along 
There'll be no more sobbin' when he starts throbbin' 
There'll be no more sobbin' when he starts a throbbin' his old sweet song 
Wake up, wake up you sleepy head 
Why don't you get up, get up, get out of bed, cheer up 
Live, love, laugh and be happy 
What if I were blue, now I'm walking through fields of flowers 
Rain may glisten but still I listen for hours and hours 
I'm just a kid again, doing what I did again, singing a song 
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin' 
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob, bobbin' along 
Along, along, along, along, along. 

Composed by Harry Woods in 1926.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Red, Red Robin Comes Bob-Bob-Bobbin’ Along

  1. Donna Moses says:

    Hi Nina:

    I enjoyed the bird pictures and the music for today. By the way, did you know that Nina (Mama) loved to hear Al Jolson? He goes back to the 20’s or so but she would listen to him when I first came into the family.

    Love you, Aunt Donna

    Like

Leave a Reply

