Stilling Your Life to Hear God’s Still Voice

STILL-Rock-652x400I read a remarkable blog post recently from “(in)courage” — “Still Life” by Liz Curtis Higgs.  She says, she is “60 and I am silver and I am supersized and I am still a Jesus Girl.”  Then she eloquently explains, if we are alive, we still have work to do for God.  He will call us home when our work on earth is completed.  But not until.

I feel senior years breathing down my neck.  I remember my mother referring to Psalm 90:10 and saying three score and ten years is the normal span of life unless we are given more years.   I expect to reach that age being still vibrant, and ready to be used by God for His glory.  In Hebrews 12:1b, Paul tells us to run the race that is set before us.  As long as we are still breathing, God has a plan for our future.  There is a reason why we are here.  I believe there is a purpose for everything that happens to us — whether good or bad; it is a teaching experience.  Our experiences form our character.  We need to always be finding ways to make lemonade out of the lemons in our path.

Read Liz’s post.  She ends with, “Whatever the date of birth on our driver’s license, God has work for us to do. Still.’

Image result for free lightning

Psalm 46:10 reads, “Be still and know that I am God.”  Sometimes we need to stop our busyness and slow down long enough to focus on God in order to seek His leadership.   During the thundering and the earthquake, we may not hear Him until we sit in stillness where we can pay attention to His still, small voice.

Look to find ways to bring glory to God every day!!!

 

 

 

 

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, God's plan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

