The Day of Love and Red Roses

*Love

This graphic describes how love should behave.  Unfortunately, human love rarely can meet these expectations.  But this scripture does paint a picture of what love should look like.  It is a standard to attempt to achieve.

Marital love reaches its epitome in Robert Burns poem:

A Red, Red Rose

By Robert Burns

O my Luve is like a red, red rose
   That’s newly sprung in June;
O my Luve is like the melody
   That’s sweetly played in tune.
So fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
   So deep in luve am I;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
   Till a’ the seas gang dry.
Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
   And the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
I will love thee still, my dear,
   While the sands o’ life shall run.
And fare thee weel, my only luve!
   And fare thee weel awhile!
And I will come again, my luve,
   Though it were ten thousand mile.

*  * *

David sings of Divine Love — the purest, strongest, most satisfying love ever known to man in Psalm 63

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
    and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
when I remember you upon my bed,
    and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
for you have been my help,
    and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
My soul clings to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

*  * *

Human love can falter, but, no matter what comes our way, God’s love is secure.  Hallelujah!

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

 *Glenview Baptist Worship Ministry Newsletter

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, Marriage, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Day of Love and Red Roses

  1. Richard Lee Green says:

    Praise Him for His unending grace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

