Significant Moments in History and in our Hearts

https://i0.wp.com/holleygerth.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Enough-Gods-Heart-for-You-Embracing-Your-True-Worth-as-a-Woman-by-Holley-Gerth.jpgWhen something significant
Takes place in our lives,
We remember. . .
We remember where we were,
What we were doing,
How the trauma of the moment affected us.
There is no loss of memory
Of the way things happened.

Those alive on November 21, 1963,
Can tell you how, when, and where
They heard the awful news.
I was in typing class.
It was even dreadful for Republicans!
Being a non-rebelling teenager,
My parents’ views became my own.
I remember saying, “I didn’t like him, but
I didn’t want him dead.”
I always adored Jackie.
She was America’s royalty.
She proved herself exemplary
During those sad days.

Thirty years ago yesterday, January 28, 1968,
The Space Shuttle Challenger exploded.
On board — Christa McAuliffe,
The first teacher honored
To go into space.
Were you watching?
I, the librarian at Mary Institute,
An all girls school in St. Louis,
Had no class that period,
So I watched the liftoff
Of this Historic Shuttle.
Our Director of Libraries
Officed with me.
She scrambled to get
Every television to an
Appropriate location for
As many to watch as possible.
A day of incredible joy
And anticipation
Became a day of gloom
And extreme sadness.

August 31, 1997.  We were
With relatives in Toronto.
They awakened us with the news.
I couldn’t believe it.
It could not be true.
With empty heart,
We returned home to Chicago.
My daughter and I drove to the
UK Embassy on Michigan Ave.
We laid our floral tribute among
The mountain of flowers
Already there. Then stood
Waiting . . .
In a long line of silent mourners
To leave a word of sympathy
In the Condolence book
To memorialize the Peoples’ Princess.

Moment of impact: the south tower is hit

On the evening of September 10, 2001,
I flew home from L.A. where
I attended the memorial service
Of my cousin’s husband.  Arriving
Home around midnight, I slept in the
Next morning.  Until my sister-in-law
Called to tell me to turn on the TV.
A plane had hit the World Trade Center.
Air traffic was fouled for a week.
Lucky to be home!
Only one of four planes had passengers
Willing to challenge the terrorists.
That scenario could never
Happen again.  Passengers have
Proved they will fight for their lives.
Todd Beamer taught us bravery.

Mama

At 11:40pm on Monday,
December 15, 2008, my 35
Year old daughter, a kidney
Cancer patient, with many
Metastases causing some
Fractured bones,
Succumbed to
Pneumonia following a
Five day dire drama of her
Systems shutting down.
At midnight EST on earth,
She was playing her new
Gold harp in heaven, and
Loving it!

When the final Significant Moment
Strikes us, those with faith
In Jesus Christ,
Will leave our body behind,
And be present with the Lord.  (II Corinthians 5:8)

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Significant Moments in History and in our Hearts

  1. Richard Lee Green says:

    1Cor 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old creations have passed away; behold, all things have become new. (NKJV) Rev 22:19 and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away[k] his part from the Book[l] of Life, from the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    Thanks, Richard Lee, for filling in the blanks on how one becomes ready for their final moment and transport to Heaven. Sunday, my choir sang Benji Cowart’s song — “The Only Name (Yours Will Be):

    “Yours will be
    The only Name that matters to me,
    The only one whose favor I seek,
    The only Name that matters to me.”
    . . .
    Then the lyrics continue with what happens to a Christian when your shuttle explodes, or an airplane crashes into the building you are in, or the paparazzi cause your car to crash, or cancer sucks the life out of you — you will wake up in Glory! Hallelujah!
    . . .
    “When I wake up in the Land of Glory and,
    With the saints, I will tell my story,
    There will be one Name
    That I proclaim:
    Jesus!”
    . . .
    To hear the song with all the lyrics, go to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=000_xRgQotY

    Like

Leave a Reply

