What Praise Songs Give You Chills?

2015 EOP1This morning, my fabulous Glenview Baptist Church Choir sang this song which was part of our Evening of Praise Concert last Sunday night.  “Lord, You’re Holy” expresses what is in my heart.  God’s wonderful attributes of His greatness are difficult to express, but this song comes close.  Every adjective/description describes my relationship with God — especially, “My Best Friend!”  The musical composition, through the God descriptions, thunders powerfully, causing chills running down many spines and filing eyes with tears — mine included.  What a fabulous, moving praise song!  The congregation rose to their feet mid-way through the song.  If you are a believer, you cannot sit still unmoved.  And if you are singing, it is difficult to reach the end without being choked up!  Karen Wheaton was truly inspired when she wrote this.  Performed here by Eddie James.

Lord You’re Holy

As I look around and I see
all the works, your hands have made,
the awesomeness of you
and how your love will never fade.
Mere words cannot express what I feel inside,
I can’t even describe Your glory divine;
but as a token of my love, this is what I’ll do,
I’ll lift my hands and cry.
Lord, you’re holy [2x],
and we lift you up and magnify your name.
[Repeat]

There’s not enough words that I can say
to tell you how much I appreciate,
all of the wonderful things You’ve given me,
Your love, Your kindness, Your tender mercies
It’s my desire to praise you
And tell you how much I love you
You’re worthy of all the honor
And you’re worthy of all the praise

I don’t know how you can love me
Why you give me so much mercy and
How you would suffer and die for me
way back on Calvary
But I thank you [x3]
You’re worthy of all the praise

Your Wonderful, glorious, holy and righteous,
victorious conqueror, triumphant and mighty,
healer, deliverer, shield and defense,
my strong tower and my best friend,                                                                                 Omnipotent, Omnipresent, soon coming King,
You’re Alpha, Omega, Lord of everything;
holy, holy, holy is Your name.

You’re Omnipotent, Omnipresent, soon coming King,
You’re Alpha, Omega, Lord of everything;
holy, holy, holy is Your name.

Holy [3x]
Is your name
We cry holy
You are Holy
Holy
Is your name

Wonderful, glorious, holy and righteous,
victorious conqueror, triumphant and mighty,
healer, deliverer, shield and defense,
strong tower and my best friend,
Omnipotent, Omnipresent, soon coming King,
Alpha, Omega, Lord of everything;
holy, holy, holy is Your name.

Omnipotent, Omnipresent, soon coming King,
You’re Alpha, Omega, Lord of everything;
holy, holy, holy is Your name.

Holy
You are holy
Holy
Is your name

You are holy
We cry holy
Holy
Is your name

If you are unfamiliar with this song, listen to this YouTube version.                                     This is track 14 from the 2011 CD entitled “Freedom” (Live From the Ramp)

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

