Happy Birthday, Goodnight Moon!

Today, September 3, 2015, Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Clement Hurd, is 68 years old!!!  That means, I should have had that book read to me as a young child.  But I didn’t.  We were regular library users.  My favorite book was The Red Carpet by Rex Parkin published in 1948.  The Hotel Bellevue’s magical red carpet tied the town into knots in order to welcome the Duke of Sultana.  I would check it out for two weeks, return it, and, if it was still on the shelf two weeks later when I returned again, I would check it out again!  I wonder what year it was before Goodnight Moon finally found a place on the shelves of my hometown library?

When I was in junior high, my mother became the children’s librarian in our small town library.  The book still did not come to my attention.  And I had little nieces and nephews around me, as well as a plethora of young children I babysat, and I am sure none of them had a copy.  At least, I never saw it.  I did not learn about the book until I was in graduate school earning my Master of Science in Library Science! My Children’s Literature course introduced me to the famous book which had lulled children for a couple of decades by then!  I find it sad that it took so long for me to discover the wonder embodied in that book.  Or maybe my delayed introduction makes the book all the sweeter.

If there was a dearth in my idyllic childhood, it was not knowing Goodnight Moon.  Please share your childhood memories of Goodnight Moon!

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Book Review, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

