Laughing at Silly Spouse

couple horse

While riding in the car, we heard on the radio it is possible to love someone for a lifetime.  I asked if that was true.  He replied, “Yes, if you get enough sleep.  I was up at 4:30, because I fell off my pillow.”  Two nights previous, he had complained about his pillow being too flat, so I bought a new one the next day.  Flat or fat–I can’t win.  The next morning we were not yet awake.  I asked him, “Did you fall off your pillow?”  He responded in a quiet, sleepy voice, “Yes.  I broke my arm.”

His declaration:  “It’s either ala carte or all inclusive.  Either way, you buy the drinks.”

We were settling his new office.  I was standing on the credenza holding a large framed print while he decided exactly where it should hang.  He had me adjust it to his desired place, then I marked where to put the nail.  After it was hung and we stood back to look at it, I said, “It’s way too low!  If you ever set up books along the credenza, they will touch the picture.”  So he agreed to move it higher.  I was conservative on how high to place it, since he chose a low vantage point.  Then we looked at it again.  It still wasn’t high enough for my liking.  I said, “When you are standing, you are looking down on the eagle.”  His response:  “It means you are flying very high.”

He booked us for a carriage ride in a resort town on my December birthday.  At hearing this news, I said, “This sounds nice — depending on the temperature.  Maybe the horses don’t work in the freezing cold.”  His retort:  “The horses have heated gas.”

As a consultant, he was going before a “firing squad” of CEO’s.  As a final request, he emailed, “Please bury me in a pin stripe suit.  A red tie would make an eternal power statement.”

He ended an email with one of his favorite quotes:  “Carpe Diem!  Seize the Day, boys!  Make your lives extraordinary! (Robin Williams)”  I responded, “Actually, you cannot say Robin Williams said that.  You could say John Keating said it.  But in either case, you should have acknowledged Dead Poets Society.  To which he replied, “Thank you for adding that editorial comment after the message was sent and received.  If you don’t mind, I will not send a revision.”  My response:  “LOL.  I keep telling you I need to edit everything you send!”  His last word:  “Robin Williams said it.  I heard him.”

I have told him for years I want my tombstone to say, “I told you I was sick.”  A while back, he was complaining he desperately needed a vacation.  Then he quipped, “I want my tombstone to say, ‘I told you I needed a break.'”

As we left a savory, gourmet, enchanting Valentine Dinner at a private club, I wistfully asked, “Do you remember our first kiss?”  To which he replied, “Where was it ?”  “On the bus.”  “I thought it was on the lips.  It seems like I would have remembered on the bus.”

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Marriage, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

