My MOB Speech at my Daughter’s Wedding, May 30, 1999

KarinMom

My daughter, Karin, whom we lost in 2008, married Steve 16 years ago today.  For my Mother-of-the-Bride speech at the reception, I wanted to sing “The Spirit Song” by John Wimber, but feared I could never get through it.  So I asked my niece, Kathy Brokaw accompanied by Nathan Chan, to sing in my place:

THE SPIRIT SONG     (Click to see the video)

O let the Son of God enfold you
With His Spirit and His love
Let Him fill your heart and satisfy your soul
O let Him have the things that hold you
And His Spirit like a dove
Will descend upon your life and make you whole

Jesus, O Jesus
Come and fill Your lambs
Jesus, O Jesus
Come and fill Your lambs

O come and sing this song with gladness
As your hearts are filled with joy
Lift your hands in sweet surrender to His name
O give Him all your tears and sadness
Give Him all your years of pain
And you’ll enter into life in Jesus’ name

The second verse about pain disturbed me.  It did not seem appropriate for the wedding, yet we all have to expect troubles. Today those words sear me as Karin did have many years of pain, physical pain, before succumbing to life with Jesus. This morning brings many sweet memories and encouragement to press on. Life is good. Steve is happily remarried (both he and new wife are a blessing to me!!), and the three children are well cared for, though in three different families.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family, God's plan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My MOB Speech at my Daughter’s Wedding, May 30, 1999

  1. Richard Lee Green says:

    Dear Nina,
    What beautiful expression of your caring, trusting, gratitude of love and dependence on Our Heavenly Father and His grace. Thank you…God Bless you and your family.

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    Thanks, Richard Lee. God is good.

    Like

  3. Steve Rebus says:

    Awww such a beautiful post! God bless you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

