When Is Stealing Not a Sin?

fireworks5 If you follow my blog, you must know I am a dog lover!  A friend related this story to me and gave me permission to share:

The friend and her husband walked their dogs daily.  About five miles away from their house, they encountered a dog they liked very much.  The dog seemingly came from an apartment building.  Obviously, the owner did not take good care of the dog as he appeared malnourished.  They petted the dog and interacted with him for an hour or two each time they saw him.  For about a week, they drove to see the dog every day and took it some good dog food.  The dog apparently lived outside most of the time.  For shelter, he hid in a crawl space under the building.  So my friend hatched a plan to steal the dog.

She called the police and asked if the owner could get the dog back if they took the dog to the Humane Society.  Yes.  This prompted her to say, “Then I am going to steal the dog and find a good home for it.”  The police told her not to reveal the exact location or when she planned to steal it.  She could tell by the policeman’s response he accepted they wanted to intervene,  but he couldn’t, as a police officer, suggest stealing as an appropriate method of helping the dog.

They planned the abduction for the evening of July 4.  They dressed in black and she drove the get-away car.  She parked almost a block away; her husband crept off in the shadows to find the dog with a hamburger in his hand.  With fireworks blasting all around, the dog hid from the commotion.

The next night, they returned to their intended crime scene, and her husband left the car with the hamburger.  The dog was waiting!  He followed the scent to the car.  Her husband opened the back door, tossed the hamburger into the car, and the dog jumped inside.  Her husband ran for the front seat and she sped off.  They probably felt a bit like Bonnie and Clyde with adrenaline pumping!

They took him to the vet, gave him his shots, had him wormed, and improved his overall health. While they had him, they walked him on a leash daily and he gobbled up every single thing he encountered!

My friend, an inveterate animal lover, had some baby box turtles.  Within two weeks, he ate them — out of the pen, shells and all.  Scrounging for his food had been his lifestyle.  Time to place an ad for a new owner.  They chose an older woman as his new mom. They all lived happily ever after including my friend’s houseful of big and small critters.

NOW. . .  Who was the SINNER and who was the SAVIOR?

Matthew 25:35-46

35 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? 38 And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? 39 And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers,[a] you did it to me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ 44 Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ 45 Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ 46 And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Deciphering Life, Dog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

