Day By Day

Day by Day

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lNVCcph6cnI

A story found in my journal from almost exactly two years ago:

My lawyer’s assistant answered my call.  I asked how she was doing. She was in a slump; nothing was going well in her life. I said, “You can be grateful to have a job you love!” She questioned that. She was missing the boyfriend she broke up with on Xmas Eve. I told her, “It is a good miss.” She stated how lonely she was. I said she needs to find the RIGHT person. She said that is easy for me to say.  Really?  I am living alone!  My choice for a mate was not quite “right” enough!

I shared with her how good God is to me and how much He fulfills me. I told her about my two churches and involvements in each including a new Divorce Group beginning, though I am not interested in attending.  My counselor encouraged me to join as I have so much to say which would help others. I told her about Trinity (the church near her which I used to attend before moving to TX), and wished she could go there. I reminded her how much counseling she has done with me and how helpful she has been. Then I told her I love her as I said goodbye. She was teary as she hung up.

During the opening at CBS, our music leader told about witnessing to a man who sat next to her in a doctor’s office. The conversation went similar to my conversation with my lawyer’s assistant, ending with the man having tears in his eyes. She had a twist ending. Another man sat down two seats from her. She really didn’t want to strike up a conversation with him, but he started one with her. His intent was to witness to HER! LOL  The song she chose for us to sing this morning was – “Day by Day”!!!!! I told the friend sitting beside me, “Oh, my. . . my husband and I used to sing this as a duet.” She rubbed my back.

DAY BY DAY  — Lyricist Lina Sandell; translation by A.L. Skoog.  Tune: Blott En Dag  Written about 1865.

Day by day, and with each passing moment,
Strength I find, to meet my trials here;
Trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment,
I’ve no cause for worry or for fear.
He whose heart is kind beyond all measure
Gives unto each day what He deems best—
Lovingly, its part of pain and pleasure,
Mingling toil with peace and rest.

Every day, the Lord Himself is near me
With a special mercy for each hour;
All my cares He fain would bear, and cheer me,
He Whose Name is Counselor and Power;
The protection of His child and treasure
Is a charge that on Himself He laid;
“As thy days, thy strength shall be in measure,”
This the pledge to me He made.

Help me then in every tribulation
So to trust Thy promises, O Lord,
That I lose not faith’s sweet consolation
Offered me within Thy holy Word.
Help me, Lord, when toil and trouble meeting,
E’re to take, as from a father’s hand,
One by one, the days, the moments fleeting,
Till I reach the promised land.

I wasn’t sure I could get through it. I became choked up at first, but the words are so strong, and I believe them with all my heart. I was so naïve when we sang this years ago as a duet. I had no idea what his true self was. Today, I can sing these words and know that they are true and mean something!

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

