Santa May Be In the Hospital This Year

We are a few days out from taking our third ginormous block test, on all things to do with the heart and lungs. We are several more days out from Christmas, and I must admit that on a scale of excitement from 5-year-old to Ebenezer Scrooge, I am pretty close to the 5-year-old end.
So, naturally, I dreamed that Santa Claus was my patient…
Spending all that time in the North Pole, where there’s very little sunlight this time of year, has led to Santa’s vitamin D deficiency; his bowleggedness is from rickets. I told him to be sure to drink all of the milk the kids leave out.
I also told him to go easy on the cookies. His obesity (what he called “jolliness”) puts him at risk for a host of other medical issues.
His shortness of breath was caused from the low pressures of his high-altitude sleigh-flying; I put him on a nasal cannula of oxygen.
I remarked that having 364 vacation days is mighty nice, but I told Santa, the stress of delivering gifts to every child across the globe, in one night, is causing him to release abnormally high amounts of aldosterone, leading to his hypertension.
Also, I referred him to a psychiatrist, because I thought spending so much time away from any human contact suggested a social anxiety disorder.
Christmas may be cancelled this year, y’all. Santa may be in the Emergency Room.

Written by — Daniel Dreschsler, a student at the Medical University of South Carolina.  Used by permission.

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Santa May Be In the Hospital This Year

  1. mpschrauwers says:

    This is hilarious! I know a few little boys and girl who hope he gets better! Merry Xmas!

    Like

  2. mpschrauwers says:

    Reblogged this on Living Whole and commented:
    Very sweet, poor Santa!

    Like

Leave a Reply

