It is Fun to See How God Plunks Us in the Right Place at the Right Time

Jack C. WaughJack C. Waugh signing my copy of his latest book.

My great great grandfather was a Union Soldier in the Civil War! And . . . I.  have.  his. DIARY!!!!! The story of how the diary came to my mother is a miracle in itself. The story involves two of my mother’s aunts – one from the maternal Putnam side of her family and the other from the paternal Moses side of her family. This is complicated, so follow closely!

My great great grandfather’s name was pronounced with a long E: Ē-thol. His granddaughter was named for him as Eth-el with a short e, which is today’s common pronunciation for the female name Ethel.

Ethel P. Rogers, m. Catherine LeBar

Matie Rogers m. Byron Moses

Eleven children including Frank and Ethel. Ethel Moses was 11 years old when her grandfather passed away, when she probably received the diary.

Frank Moses m. Nina Putnam                Ethel Moses m. Fernon Phillips

Nina Putnam’s Uncle Elson Putnam m. Winnie Phillips            Nina Putnam’s husband’s sister, Ethel Moses, m. Fernon Phillips

My mother, Etha Moses, born to Frank and Nina P. Moses was great niece to Elson and Winnie Putnam and niece to Fernon and Ethel Phillips

Etha Moses m. William Herne, Jr.

Nina Herne Walsh

Names in bold indicate those who possessed the diary.

It is speculation whether Ethel Moses Phillips or her farmer husband left the diary in the hayloft of the Phillips Family Farm. Ethel and her husband died prior to 1980. Then Winnie Phillips Putnam took over running the Phillips Family Farm. In the early 1980s, she found the diary in the hayloft. Winnie knew the Rogers line was in her deceased sister-in-law’s and my mother’s Moses family. She gave the diary to my mother for safe keeping and preservation. Thank heavens an aunt on one side of the family and a great uncle on the other side of the family married siblings!

I began writing a book based on the diary and filling the huge blanks his minuscule pages could not contain of what was happening in the war. The fall of 2008, I was ready to look for an agent. But God had other plans. In September, I became the chief caregiver to my daughter’s family while we endured the trauma of her cancer battle. Needless-to-say, her death put my book on hold. God has not given me the disposition to continue until recently. The wait has brought much more information to light which is valuable to my project.

Since moving to Texas two years ago, I found a Civil War Roundtable group.  The monthly meetings usually include a speaker giving special emphasis to an aspect of the war. Tonight’s speaker was one of our own members — Jack Waugh, better known to readers as John C. Waugh, a celebrated author of more books on the Civil War than can be ascertained and is still writing at his ripe age of over fourscore! His latest book, just released, Lincoln and the War’s End — a perfect read for more research on my quest, as my ancestor entered the war within its last year and was present at the Surrender of General Lee at Appomattox Court House. Can’t wait to begin reading!

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, Deciphering Life, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

