The Goodness of Gowns and Grief

IMG_7580 IMG_7582 IMG_7583IMG_7578

Last week, I took the time to endure the harrowing hour long drive on multiple crisscrossing Dallas/Fort Worth highways to find the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum for two reasons:  (1)  to learn how to get there for the purpose of being a tour guide to my future out-of-town house guests, and (2) to see the last day of the Oscar de la Renta display.  The gorgeous gowns presented had been worn mainly by Laura Bush and other First Ladies, Mrs. Mercedes Bass of Fort Worth fame, and a few other celebrities named and unnamed.  More photos can be seen here — https://www.flickr.com/photos/georgewbushcenter/sets/72157644987003421/

I and another viewer commented the dresses looked better in the photos on a person than they appeared on these stiff mannequins.

In giving myself a preview of the museum (as I will see it many times in the future), I found two quotes of significance:  In a video, President George W. Bush said, “This world He created is of moral design. Grief and tragedy and hatred are only for a time. Goodness, remembrance and love have no end, and the Lord of life holds all who die and all who mourn.”  I love that!  In another video, I heard Laura Bush quote from Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet: “love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.”

I needed to watch my time and beat the afternoon rush hour, so I missed the library completely, but another day will come.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Grief, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

