Can Deserts Become Rivers?

desert riverInside of everyone, it is said, a God-shaped hole is carved into one’s soul. Each person tries to fill that hole with something, whether it be a hobby, family, drugs, sports, etc. I have never tried filling that hole with something other than God. God filled my hole when I was only four.

My mother practiced her fabulous flannelgraph stories on me including her invitation, for the children she would be teaching, to accept Jesus into their hearts. At four, I knew I wanted Jesus in my heart.

So I cannot speak from experience, as I never tried filling that hole with something else. Pleasing, worshiping God has always been my focus with the bonus of His comfort and guidance in difficult times. It is those who have tried satisfaction from other things who can testify the empty space exists and only God fills that hole in our being satisfactorily to make us whole.

My life has been easy until my sixth decade. I often thanked God for my carefree life. I describe my lifestyle as being one of a princess, except I was born into a poor family. But we had so much in love and fulfillment that I did not recognize we didn’t have material goods. Our home was one of the nicer in my tiny town of 500 people. Nicer, not only in structure, but in cleanliness, organization, and decor.

I did wonder about the stage settings I saw on TV sitcoms which were supposedly about ordinary people. They appeared to have better furniture and fancier material goods than we did. It wasn’t until I ventured out into the world that I was able to recognize my humble beginnings.

God directed me in my choice of a college, selection of a mate, and rerouting of my career choice when I discovered in Practice Teaching, I was not an ideal teacher. So I went on for a Masters in Library/Information Science thinking I would never have to give speeches. Ha! Life was simple. Perfect positions fell into my lap.

Several of my friends in college lost their father. I prayed I would not lose my father during my college years. I am grateful God waited until I was 29 before taking him home. At 41, I became an orphan. God became more precious than ever through those experiences. Your parents dying before you is normal. It is sad, but recoverable.

Losing your child at age 60 is a new ballgame. Things which were important before, are no longer important. Your life teeters on the edge. Two years later, you learn your husband has been living elsewhere; he was not traveling as he said. The grieving for daughter has to be set aside while facing new walls. Yet God is in the midst of it all, and promising everything will be OK. He has it all planned out.

The tough times make us tougher, more resilient, and more reliant on God. He has promised blessings.

Christian song writers through the ages have blessed us with wonderful songs. Handel wrote —
Lift up your heads; Oh ye gates.
And be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors,
And the King of Glory will come in.

The age of gospel music brought us a treasure trove of encouraging songs. The fourth verse of Amazing Grace reads,
The Lord has promised good to me,
His word my hope secures;
He will my shield and portion be
As long as life endures.

Today’s praise music is full reassuring words. A new song I am learning is “You Revive Me,” by Chris Tomlin, Matt Maher & Audrey Assad:
You revive me, You revive me, Lord!
And all my deserts are rivers of joy,
I could not afford.
So I’ll spend myself ’til I’m empty and poor,
All for you, You revive me Lord.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can Deserts Become Rivers?

  1. Lynn says:

    Beautiful, Nina.

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    Glad it touched you, Lynn. Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

