How to Face the Final Curtain Call with Courage

5 Pathways-to-Death-Acceptance

Cancer is like Russian Roulette; you don’t know who will get it next.  It is the scourge of our generation.  Everyone reading these words probably knows someone or perhaps several people who are dealing with cancer right now.   Once it is upon you, you are facing your own death.  It might be wise to save this information for when the time comes that we need this advice ourselves.

************

Taken from a blog post by Joyce Li

My girlfriend was diagnosed with breast cancer and had surgery six years ago. Doctors were satisfied with her treatments and gave her a positive prognosis. Yesterday, my girlfriend spoke to me after dinner. Her teary eyes gave away what she was going to tell me. She just found out that her cancer is back, with full force, spreading to her bones, liver, and lung.

What can one say to comfort a forty-eight-year-old mother and wife?

Words escaped me. But not for long. I committed to lift her up in prayers.

Today, as I reflect on my own mortality, Dr. Paul Wong‘s teaching comes in handy. No matter how unwelcome the subject of “death” is, it is part of the human reality. Dying is part of living. Instead of avoiding the topic, I’ve learned to adopt an attitude of acceptance to my own demise. Knowing the final curtain call is inevitable, why not live each moment fully with intention and vigor?

Tomorrow is not guaranteed.

Do I regret the past, worry about the future, and allow regrets and worries to hijack my present?

NO. There is a better approach. Dr. Paul Wong’s Five Pathways to Death Acceptance provides a framework for easing the agony of our final exit. This framework also speak to my strategy for living life to the full. (To learn more about What Makes Life Worth Living, read about the International Meaning Conference held in Vancouver July 24 to 27, 2014) Here is what I’ve learned from Dr. Wong:

1) Live a life of self-transcendence

I am put to this world to experience humanity, enjoy the abundance that life has to offer, as well as to fulfill my responsibilities. Instead of focusing my energy in seeking merely personal gains, comfort, pleasure, etc., I choose to worship my Creator and strive to fulfill my purpose on this earth by enriching other people’s lives.

2) Validate your life as worthwhile and meaningful

Life is a mystery. There are things that cannot be explained to my satisfaction and comprehension. I need to have faith that in the bigger scheme somewhere in the unknown, order exists in spite of apparent chaos, righteousness prevails in spite of seeming injustice. Being human has inherent value. The sanctity of life in each person is a meaningful gift awaiting full exploration.

3) Have taken care of the unfinished business

Imagine going into a deserted house packed with unopened gifts. If I were the owner of the house, I would feel remorse not enjoying those gifts while I lived there. How does it feel like to see a pile of unfinished business at the end of our life journey? The unfinished business can be our unrealized dreams, unaccomplished goals, unspoken ambitions, and under-utilized talents. I made my decision to follow my passion and pursue things that matter to me the most. My action starts today, not tomorrow.

4) Connect with love ones

We are relational beings; we have the need to love and be loved. A sense of community, security and connectedness emerges when surrounded by family, friends and loved ones. I treasure those moments. I set aside time, put away distractions, enjoy their presence while with them.

5) Have faith in a blessed afterlife

Depending on our belief system, death can mean the end of doom, the pit of nothingness, the rise of avatar, or the beginning of heaven. I believe in heaven where there is no pain, suffering, or sorrow. Death marks the end of my physical existence on earth; my soul lives on. I will be among the angels singing praises day and night, in eternity.

Looking Down Memory Lane

Let’s fast forward to 2050. The ninety-year-old Joyce is lying peacefully in her deathbed. Breathing in and out reviewing every frame of her long memory strip with delight:

She did the best with the gifts that the Creator has generously endowed her with.

She experienced love as a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother, a grandmother, and a great-grandmother.

She worked in professions that contributed to individual and organizational growth.

She lived her childhood dream and had the opportunity to stitch new dreams and fulfill them one by one.

Now, taking in her last breath, she says goodbye to her loved ones around her, blesses them, and steps gracefully into eternity uniting with her heavenly Father.

What would you say when you are at your deathbed?

What will your life review look like?

How will you live today?

 

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Deciphering Life, Grief and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

