If You Love Dogs, You will Love This Book

Book Review1

Today I was the presenter for the Brown Bag Book Review, a program of the Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle (CLSC) Alumni Association held on the porch of Alumni Hall at Chautauqua Institution.  I have volunteered to do this for the past four years, and really enjoy the project of preparing for it.

The book I chose to review this year was one given to me by a close friend after the death of my chocolate lab, Guinness, last fall — Inside of a Dog:  What Dogs See, Smell, and Know.

I wasn’t sure when I started reading the book if I would enjoy it as the author calls anthropomorphizing dog behaviors “odious.”  Horowitz, an ethologist and professor of animal behavior, is adamant about using scientific methods to understand dogs instead of anthropomorphisms.

Soon, I hope, the full review will be available on my website.  The concise version is that Horowitz proves dogs use all their senses very effectively and know more about us and the world around them than we ever imagined.

Not only did we have a full porch and more attendees sitting on lawn chairs, we had two canine listeners as well!  We had Fiona, a Havanese, and Charlie, a Shih-tzu – Bichon, as attentive listeners . . . until a rogue canine passed by and barked at us.  Either Fiona or Charlie responded in kind.  Cracked me up!

The chapter “Noble Minds” enlightens the reader to the amazing intelligence of dogs.  Their extraordinary comprehension is on a higher plain than anyone would expect.  God bless our household beasties!

One of my favorite dog stories is my dogs’ GPS abilities.  On more than one occasion, my last chocolate lab, Goofy Guinness, knew when I missed a turn and told me I had made a mistake!

Do you have an exceptional story to relate about your dog?

 

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

