What Feeds Your Spirit?

Yellow Crowned Night Heron

There are so many things which feed my spirit (in no particular order):

  1. Classical music
  2. Family
  3. Edifying and entertaining books (fiction and non fiction)
  4. Activities which teach me something (e.g. The Civil War Roundtable)
  5. Preaching which has a message I can latch on to
  6. Ice skating
  7. Friends
  8. Entertaining
  9. My dog
  10. Other animals — especially birds

Today, I am particularly excited about seeing a Yellow-Crowned Night Heron.  I saw one eleven years ago on Sanibel Island, FL.  This afternoon, as I pulled out of my subdivision, I saw an unusual heron-type bird standing in the ditch.  I turned around, handed my iPhone to my grandson in the back seat asking him to take some photos for me, looped around, slowed down with my flashers on for him to snap some shots.  He checked my bird app for herons, but nothing fit.  Once we were home again, I identified it from the photos.  My bird book says it is uncommon.  Not only did I see one outside my subdivision, but I saw another one a couple of miles down the road!

I am still in awe over my close encounter with a coyote several days ago.  Both garage door openers needed new batteries.  It was going on 1am as I changed them and tested the door from the laundry room.  Then I opened the laundry room door to watch the door go up and down.  A “dog” was AT the door and would have walked into the laundry room if I had not screamed and shut the door!!!   Contemplating that dirty, wet dog, I realized he was NOT a dog but a coyote!!!!  I had to make sure I was not shutting him into my garage, so got a flashlight, turned on the garage light, and went out looking for him.  Did not see him, closed the garage door and locked up.

What feeds your spirit?

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Happiness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Feeds Your Spirit?

  1. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    Creation and creative work, both my own and that done by others. There is nothing like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

