Messes

mess

I am a neat and orderly type of person.  I do not do well with messes all around me, although, I am good at making messes.  Right now, my desk and surrounding area are a disaster and have been for at least a week.  I have stacks of

  • To do lists — immediate and long term.
  • Magazines/newsletters to read.
  • Financial data to enter into my computer.
  • Mail to be dealt with.
  • Three stacks of genealogy information I pulled out last weekend to begin making a dent in adding my vast data into my genealogy software.  When I began my genealogy research back in 1989, I had an Apple IIe which I continued to use until 1996.  In those intervening years, I entered the bulk of my research using the Apple IIe.  Unfortunately, no easy way exists for transferring the data from an Appleworks document into genealogy software.  It has to be done by hand.  I spent much of a summer ten years ago entering data from present back to the 1800s.  But a tremendous amount remains to be accomplished back to the 1500s.

I found these following quotes without sources at http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2007/11/al-gores-desk.html

  • “Mess is complete, in that it embraces all sorts of random elements. Mess tells a story: you can learn a lot about people from their detritus, whereas neat—well, neat is a closed book. Neat has no narrative and no personality.”
  • “When things are carefully arranged and kept in their ‘proper’ time and place and done in precisely the ‘right’ way every time, you lock out some highly useful qualities—such as improvisation, adaptability, and serendipity.”

I’m sticking with those!  They give me an excuse until everything is back in order again!

My relatively new subdivision has only one television and internet service provider.  The signal comes via satellite dish.  Many residents are unhappy with the service we receive.  I am OK except my new wireless printer refuses to be wireless.  The Geek Squad blames my service provider’s router.  Beginning a couple of weeks ago, another company began tearing up our yards and sidewalks to install fiber optic cable.  What a mess!  And they have not made it to my street yet.  This disruption will be here for two months, we are told.  No doubt there will be a mass exodus from our current provider to the new one!

Tolerating external messes, such as these, presents one kind of problem.  But then we have internal messes bringing us to our knees — the only way to deal with them, since we are helpless to achieve a resolution in our own power.  One could be devastated by these situations.  God has taught me over the past five years HE holds the controls.  Nothing happens which is not ordained by Him.  Plus, He has promised “All things work together for good for those who love the Lord.” Romans 8:28.  Since I tend to be a control freak, waiting for God to intervene and resolve messes involves patience.  Why is it so difficult to learn patience?

  • “Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him.”  Psalm 37:7
  • “. . . we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience.”  Romans 5:3
  • James 5:11 tells us, because Job was patient/perseverant/steadfast, God was full of mercy and compassion for him.

Thank you, Lord, for your steadfast mercies and promise of your grace and blessing.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Deciphering Life, God's plan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Messes

  1. Actually Nina your messy looks very organized! Romans 5:3 is indeed a struggle. You always bring valuable lessons to the table.

    Like

Leave a Reply

