Five Years Ago Today

IMG_3485 (2)
Today Karin would have been FORTY!!!! Five years have made a huge difference in my life. Consider the changes in your life over the past five years! Priscilla Shirer at Women of Faith last week said, “Think of five years ago and how you looked. You are not the same person you used to be. The Holy Spirit changes us from the inside out. Just like popcorn – it changes from the inside out. We look completely different from what we used to be. The Holy Spirit lives inside us to change and transform us from the inside out.”

Oh my. . . In the last 5 years, I have lost a daughter and a granddaughter, gained a biological grandson, gained a new DIL and her two sons, lost a husband, gained a grandson-in-law, and a great granddaughter, then lost a dog this week. I have moved to Texas; I have new friends and a new life which I revel in.

During Karin’s illness, we were reminded of Jeremiah 29:11 – “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” I didn’t believe that verse was meant for us at the time we lost Karin, but only for the ancient Israelites to whom it was written. But, after seeing God’s plan come together in so many ways, I do believe we can claim that verse for us today.
Priscilla also said, “We are not cheated but chosen. You have been chosen by God for a very specific purpose.” I look forward to what God has in store or me next!
About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Deciphering Life, Grief. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

