From Turbulance to Calm

Psalm 35:22–23
O LORD, you know all about this.
Do not stay silent.
Do not abandon me now, O Lord.
Wake up! Rise to my defense!
Take up my case, my God and my Lord.

It is assumed this Psalm may have been written when Saul was pursuing David.  David cries out to God for succor against those who try to cause evil for no good reason.  He begs for rescue from the lies and unjust affronts he is facing.  He reminds God he has earnestly prayed for his enemies.

How often do we find ourselves in David’s shoes in one degree to another?  Why does God allow such horrible things to be said about us and seemingly hide his face from us as we stumble on a path to reconciliation and justice?  Though we may not see the purpose, there is one.  God is preening and prodding us to become more experienced to handle the battles of life.

I stopped at a service center along a highway this past weekend with my nine year old grandson.   As we walked in, he said to me, “Why is my life so hard?”  He couldn’t quite spit out the internal trauma he was facing, but he is right — his life has been very hard.  His partial story is — he was adopted at 15 months from a foreign country; three years later his adoptive mother died.  His Dad remarried restoring stability, yet he moved to a new town leaving his school, church, and dog behind.  All I could tell him is that God is preparing him to be a very special person.  I told him I used to thank God for my very easy life . . .  until a few years ago when his mommy died which brought on more dramatic family changes.  Fortunately, I don’t have to beg God for rescue, as he is constantly bolstering me with strength, courage, and sustenance.  I assured my grandson God is preparing an amazing future for him.  He needs to hang on and ride the rapids!

Psalm 35 winds to an end with verse 27:
Great is the Lord,
Who delights in blessing his servant with peace.

Have you attained peace as a survivor of turmoil?

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Deciphering Life, God's plan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Turbulance to Calm

  1. mpschrauwers says:

    A treacherous path is full of valuable life lessons and it makes the rainbow at the end even more glorious! March on, little man, you are very special!

    Like

Leave a Reply

