7 Steps to Recovery from Major Disruptions to Life

1.     Pray.  The Bible tells us to “Pray without ceasing” (I Thessalonians 5:17).  I do that.  I am not one to have a quiet time for X number of minutes per day.  If I were to be that rigid, I would fall asleep in prayer.  My heart and soul are in constant communication with God.  I pray for God’s protection while driving.  I thank God for my daily blessings as they occur.  I praise God for the birds I am able to identify and experience their habits. I am saying sentence prayers all day long.  “Help me to say the right thing.”  “Help me to find the perfect gift.”  “Thank you for protecting me as I pulled in front of the car in my blind spot!”  And for the past year or so, it seems I lose something constantly.  It stays lost until I finally give up and pray about it.  Divine intervention is shocking, because, after praying, the item suddenly reveals itself – usually within seconds!
2.     Sing!  “I will sing of the Lord’s great love forever” (Psalm 89:1).  If I am not praying, my heart is singing my favorite songs.  Many of the worship songs and hymns are heartfelt prayers in themselves.  This one has special significance for me:
Hear the music here —

Read the words here –
http://www.thedills.net/Lyrics/Faith/Jesus%20Never%20Fails.pdf
3.     Be joyful!  “He that has a merry heart has a continual feast” (Proverbs 15:15). A merry heart gives one a happy countenance.  Do you ever smile from happy thoughts as you walk down the street, and then you notice strangers are smiling back at you?  Sometimes, I put on a smile as I am among strangers and just watch what happens.  You will be surprised how many smile back!  Be intentional to be joyful!  It makes a difference in your attitude, your outlook, even your health!
4.     Help others! “Love your neighbor as yourself” (Matthew 22:39) Commiserate with a friend or neighbor who is sick, has a problem, or is grieving. Being able to help someone else in his/her time of need is very gratifying and pleases your heavenly Father.
5.     Give generously – to your church, your favorite charities or cherished causes.  Whatever you give away will come back to you in blessings.  “Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God”  Hebrews 13:16.
6.    Live your life as if there is no tomorrow.  If you became crippled from an accident tomorrow, would you regret what you had not accomplished or revel in what you have accomplished?  “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble”  (Matthew 6:34).
7.     However, if you do become crippled tomorrow, go back to number 1.  As long as you are breathing, God is not done with you yet!  “All things are possible for one who believes.” (Mark9:23).

What would you add to this list?

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, Deciphering Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 Steps to Recovery from Major Disruptions to Life

  1. Great blog. I love your options. I thought of one more. Give up your ‘dreams’ for HIS plans. I have found it one of the most challenging. We have set in our minds how we think our life is going to go. We dream and imagine big to go along with that. When life happens and our world is turned on its axis if we aren’t able to give up what we thought our future and plans would be and be open to the road he is carrying us down we will become hopeless.

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    Oh, my, Kathy. You are SOOO right!!!! It is incredibly difficult to lose your dreams, but His plans do more than fulfill the emptiness lost. As Karin Walsh Faulkner said a week before entering God’s presence, “God is amazing!”

    Like

  3. mpschrauwers says:

    What wonderful insight and reflection of your journey! A list to refer to for all of us when times get difficult!!! Thank you for sharing your coping ways!

    Like

Leave a Reply

