A Shelter in the Time of Storm

BodeyIslandLight

I read a couple of email devotionals recently which based their premise on storms.  One talked about the frightening storm on the sea when the disciples were fishing and Jesus was sleeping on the boat.  They awoke Him to save them, yet they were shocked when the wind and waves obeyed Jesus.  The gist of the story the author put forward was that Jesus was asleep, because He wasn’t worried.  She suggested we should have more faith to feel the peace of God as He is in control of our storms.  Yet I think it is more reassuring to watch Jesus stop the wind and waves after we have asked for protection from drowning.  Period.

The second devotional was based on human experience of seeing a lighthouse through a storm and focusing only on the lighthouse to lead one to safety.  He likened that to looking for guidance above the raging storm using the verse, “Be still and know that I am God,” from Psalm 46:10.

I like both of these stories, because I have experienced them myself.  During the storm of my daughter’s demise and death, God was there.  At the time, I knew so many people were praying, and I attributed the calm I felt at her death as the result of those prayers.  Yet months later, in retrospect, I realized it was not just the outcome of those prayers; it was God Himself holding me, comforting me, giving me peace and assurance that He was in control.  This was His will, and I did not need to second guess it.  The power of His presence was overwhelming yet initially unrecognizable.  I think God has another attribute:  He is shy.  He is unassuming.  He doesn’t beat us over the head.  He waits for us to come to Him.

At this point in my marriage breakup, there are times I am thrown off balance by something that is said or happens.  But I have learned to immediately pray about it — to be still and recognize God understands and will calm the waves.  And the amazing thing is — He DOES!

Can you relate times you have watched God calm your seas?  How has He made His presence known to you?

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Christian life, Deciphering Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Shelter in the Time of Storm

  1. jack seibert says:

    Love your sharing of different things, thoughts, and events in your life. Puts some body onto an outline.

    Like

Leave a Reply

