Dressing Up

Wedding Bill & EthaMax Lucado’s online devotional today, February 1:

When they were young, my daughters loved playing “dress-up.” They’d put on their mom’s shoes, fill up a grown-up purse with crayons and pretend grown-up scenarios. For the moment, they wanted to be just like mom.

Don’t we do the same? We look at ourselves, with our immaturity, our sinfulness, and we want to clothe ourselves in something better. We want to be just like Jesus. This seems like an impossible goal until we accept one simple truth: God will help us. He loves us. Not only does God love each of us exactly as we are, but he wants us, little by little, to become like him. Why? Because he wants us to have a heart like his.

Need to hear that message a few more times? Don’t we all? God loves you just the way you are, but he refuses to leave you that way! He wants you to be just like Jesus!

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.” (Ezekiel 36:26).

From Just Like Jesus

I also loved playing dress up as a tiny tot. I would put on my beautiful mother’s clothes, shoes, and hats trying to look and be like her. My parents were so much in love for the forty-three years they were married. I wanted to grow up to be like my mother and have a till-death-do-us-part marriage. When I was 3, I attended my first wedding. In fact, it may be the most elaborate nuptials I ever attended. My father was a groomsman, and I was very impressed. From that time on, my dress up play was focused on weddings and being a bride. I would don my mother’s long robes, hats with netting, and high heeled shoes to play bride. Then I would walk down the staircase to have my train drag behind me. Sometimes, I did the hesitation step in the aisles of my mother’s peony and rose garden. I carried flowers from her garden and did double duty too, scattering petals on the path. By the time I was in high school, I had started a file of ideas I wanted for my wedding. During my college years, I was secretary to the college chaplain and typed up many a wedding service for him. I would copy the sections which I particularly liked. In fact, with all my notes, I wrote our own wedding ceremony. Since there are many pastors within our circle of friends and relative, some asked for a copy of our ceremony to use with their parishioners. Also within my wedding folder was a story about a Karen and a Steve who desired to have a God-sanctioned marriage. When my daughter Karin was planning her wedding to Steve, I showed her that story from my file. She was blown away and used it in her Bride’s speech at her reception.

At the age of 4, while listening to my mother practice her flannel graph stories for Sunday School, I asked Jesus to come into my heart. Aside from God, family has been the most important thing to me throughout my life. I am a genealogist and attend every family function possible. I have been called the glue that holds the family together. Never did I think God would take my family away from me, but he did. I lost my daughter to cancer. Initially, I declared it was an act of Satan; God would not have allowed her to die. As I worked through my grief, I realized God had provided in advance for her passing. Everything was under his control. Then I learned my husband had left our marriage, and his family excommunicated me as well. Impossible! How could that happen?

God came to Job in a whirlwind saying, “Dress for action like a man.” (Job 38:3 ESV) God is suggesting that we dress up to represent him. As God allowed Job to be broken for a purpose – to be an example for us, God has allowed me to be grieved for a reason. He wants to make me a better person, a stronger Christian. As God restored everything Job’s heart desired back to him, I know that God is caring for me and improving me and my life to be of use for his kingdom. I am loving my new clothes!

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
Image | This entry was posted in Christian life, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dressing Up

  1. Ruth Watts says:

    I’m enjoying your insightful musings. Keep them coming.

    None of these heartaches will be wasted upon you, as you find yourself changed in amazing and wonderful ways that could never have happened otherwise – learning to accept it all as coming from the hand of a God who loves you unconditionally. He will give you “beauty for ashes, oil of joy for mourning and a garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness.” And He is….

    Like

  2. mpschrauwers says:

    It was great!! And you do look AMAZING in your new clothes!! (in all
    sense) 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

