Les Misérables, the movie

LMB

The classic book, transformed into a phenomenal stage play, and now reproduced in an outstanding movie, meets the viewer on myriad levels.  The themes of love and forgiveness ring within me as they these issues currently personally confront me.  The ability to forgive over and over and over again as the trespass continues daily with no hope for a conclusion, the ability to love when nothing remains to love — these produce evanescent mists impossible to grapple.  Yet Jean Valjean accomplished those feats, and this does not resonate as a “religious” story.   Or does it?

The raw horrors of the French Revolution, as well as our own Civil War of that era, remain beyond comprehension.  In the last hour of the show, I found it difficult to sit there and not sing the songs with the actors.  I will admit I hummed along and mouthed the words several times.  An audience a few years ago brought fun and joy as we watched “Mama Mia” and sang along with all the songs.  “Les Miz” does not have the lilting tunes of Rogers and Hammerstein, but heavy, difficult-to-sing, glorious songs which resound the theme of the work.  I hope, as audiences watch the movie for the second or third time, they will join in with the solos.  I can’t wait to own my own copy of this movie and belt out the tunes freely!

I will admit, since the shooting in the Colorado theater, attending public theaters makes me wary as those thoughts consume my mind while watching the show.  Tonight, an armed policeman, standing guard in the theater as I entered, eased my mind, and I saw him again as I left.  I almost thanked him for being there.  I should have!  It is mindboggling to me that people think removing guns from sane, trained people, proven to be of outstanding character, will make our world safer.  The police do not perpetrate crimes.  The policeman tonight brought to mind, if I were still working in a public or school library, I certainly would want armed protection!  Insane criminal minds could easily favor a library as a target spot.

About 9awalsh

A genealogist and writer who has uncovered legacy stories which must be told. I also write a blog, Deciphering Life, trying to figure out why life becomes so tangled -- www.9awalsh.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Les Misérables, the movie

  1. Ruth Watts says:

    We saw it last week and I commented that it was a “spiritual” movie (or religious, I guess). I wondered who would have imagined that the American public would embrace such unreasonable love and forgiveness. There may be hope for us yet.

    Your post merits a “film critic” status. Maybe pursue writing a film critic column for the local paper? OK. Is that thinking too big? or too small? Maybe you just want to blog when you feel like it. Anyhow, I loved it!

    Like

  2. 9awalsh says:

    It is easier to hold our hatred, become bitter, yet destroy ourselves, like Javert. How sad for those who watch the movie and say, “I want to be Javert, because he is right!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

